IQClub admissions brief
Princeton University

SAT policy at Princeton: the short answer

No, for the entry term covered by the current policy. Princeton remains test-optional for Fall 2027 entry and will require testing for Fall 2028 entry.

Reviewed against official sources on September 2, 2026.

Middle 50%
1490–1570Princeton composite
Reported median
1530Enrolled SAT submitters
Published data
OfficialLatest published reporting cycle
Minimum
None publishedThe reported range is not a cutoff

No — Princeton does not require an SAT score for the entry term described below

Princeton remains test-optional for Fall 2027 entry and will require testing for Fall 2028 entry. The official policy linked on this page is the source of truth for applicant type, entry term, deadlines, and any exception.

Read the numbers correctly

Princeton SAT score range

The latest official institutional score source linked below reports a 1490–1570 middle-50% SAT composite range, with a midpoint of 1530, among enrolled score submitters.

PrincetonEnrolled first-year students who submitted SAT scores
149025th percentile 1530median 157075th percentile

Cohort dates and reporting definitions can differ by institution; open the official source for its precise reporting year. This describes enrolled score submitters, not an admission cutoff.

Put your result in context

Where does your SAT score sit?

Because testing is optional, use the published 1490–1570 range as context for whether your score adds useful evidence to your application.

Enter a total SAT score

Use a score from 400 to 1600, in 10-point steps.

Within the range

1530 is the published midpoint

This score sits near the middle of Princeton’s published SAT range for enrolled score submitters. It is context, not an admissions prediction.

Read the 1530 score guide
Before you send scores

Four details that shape the decision

No published SAT cutoff
Princeton does not publish the 1490–1570 middle-50% range as a minimum or guarantee. It describes enrolled students who submitted scores, not an automatic admission threshold.
Confirm multi-date scoring
The cited policy does not state a simple universal SAT superscore rule. Confirm the current multi-date scoring instructions before deciding which sittings to send.
Check self-report and verification rules
Princeton’s SAT code is 2672. Use the official policy for whether scores may be self-reported at application time and when an official testing-agency report is required.
Entry-term policy matters
Before the testing requirement returns for Fall 2028. Testing rules can change by cycle, so confirm the entry term shown on the official page before submitting.
IQClub planning layer

From an admissions number to a Math plan

A college range tells you where past score submitters landed. It does not tell you which Math skills will move your own score.

  1. 1

    Separate the benchmark from the goal

    Place your composite against the published 1490–1570 range, then inspect the Math subscore separately. A total inside the range can still hide a Math weakness that is worth fixing before test day.

  2. 2

    Make the submission decision in context

    Because Princeton is test-optional for the stated cycle, compare the score with your transcript and intended major. Submit when it adds evidence; do not treat one number as a substitute for the rest of the application.

  3. 3

    Turn the gap into a Math study list

    Run an IQClub SAT Math diagnostic, rank missed skills by frequency, and retest after focused practice. Use a score target tied to Princeton and your program rather than chasing points without a decision rule.

Start an SAT Math diagnostic
Fast answers

Princeton SAT FAQ

Does Princeton require the SAT?
Princeton remains test-optional for Fall 2027 entry and will require testing for Fall 2028 entry. Always match the policy to your applicant type and intended entry term.
What SAT score do you need for Princeton?
Princeton does not publish one score that guarantees admission. Its published middle-50% SAT range is 1490–1570 among enrolled students who submitted scores.
What is the average SAT score at Princeton?
The official score context used here has a midpoint of 1530. This page calls it a midpoint or median-style benchmark rather than claiming that every institutional source reports a mathematical average.
Does Princeton superscore the SAT?
The cited policy does not state a simple universal SAT superscore rule. Confirm the current multi-date scoring instructions before deciding which sittings to send.
Can I self-report SAT scores to Princeton?
Use Princeton’s current testing page for the application-stage reporting rule and official-score verification deadline. The SAT reporting code listed by the institution is 2672.
Should I submit a 1530 SAT score to Princeton?
A 1530 is near the midpoint of the published 1490–1570 range. Since testing is optional, submit it when it strengthens the academic evidence in your application.
Audit trail

Official sources used for this brief

Admissions rules move. Recheck the university pages before submitting an application.

SAT® is a registered trademark of the College Board. ACT® is a registered trademark of ACT, Inc. PSAT/NMSQT® is a registered trademark of the College Board and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. AP®, Advanced Placement Program®, and Pre-AP® are registered trademarks of the College Board. IQClub.com is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any of these organizations.